I’m pretty sure I saw an early 30s-ish guy of middle eastern decent getting shaken down in a substantially large police check on Ratchadpisek Rd b/w Sukhumvit  & Rama 4.

I came through the check point in a taxi so was (almost guaranteed) impervious to anything more than a 2nd or 3rd torch flash in the eyes . But as I cruised passed, ( only travelling at not much more than light jogging pace, and unencumbered by need to focus on driving) I could take a long progressive look at the main police/civilian interaction going down along the length of the police presence there.

In the 10 seconds that I could really catch faces, I saw anger, startled incredulousness & the early stages of fear in the face of the civilian man, and the overacted look of anger/disappointment on the policemans face as he looked like he was about to show what he’d just ‘found’ on the civilian with unfortunate timing.

Another layer of the onion.

Leave a Reply

